The new system of registration of exporters REX

The new system of registration of exporters REX

Related image

Since January 1, the Export Registry System (REX system) is the certification system for the origin of the products that the European Union (EU) is implementing progressively.

This applies, for the first time, in the Generalized System of Preferences (GSP) and through which the EU grants tariff preferences to developing countries .

The REX system is based on the principle of self-certification, by which economic operators.make their own communications about the origin of the goods to be exported to the EU.

In order to carry out this action, the economic agent must be registered in the database managed by each of the beneficiary countries. In this way, the economic operator becomes a registered exporter.

Progressive implementation of the system

Progressively, the REX system will completely replace the current certification system based on certificates of origin Form A, which are issued by the authorities of the beneficiary countries and in invoice declarations made under certain conditions by economic operators. This system will also be used among the GSP beneficiary countries that apply regional accumulation.

Since January 1 of this year, the REX system is in transition period and will continue during the following year. If necessary, you can extend the term by 6 months more by making a prior request. The EU already plans that those beneficiary countries that requested it before June 30, 2016, may postpone the start of the application of the system until January 1, 2018 or January 1, 2019.

At the time the EU made public a list of countries that can apply the REX system from January 1, 2017 and those that postpone this application:

Countries that apply the REX system as of 01/01/2017:

Zambia, Yemen, Tuvalu, Timor-Leste, Tonga, Togo, Chad, Sao Tome and Principe, Kenya, South Sudan, Somalia, Comoros, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Niue (Island), Nepal, Mali, Liberia, Laos, Kiribati, India, Ginea Bissau, Equatorial Guinea, Micronesia, Ethiopia, Djibouti, Cook Islands, Congo, Central African Republic, Pakistan, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Bhutan, Nauru, Burundi and Angola

Countries that will apply the REX system as of 01/01/2018:

Afghanistan, Armenia, Bolivia, Cote d’Ivoire, Eritrea, Gambia, Guinea, Malawi, Mozambique, Myanmar, Niger, Rwanda, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Swaziland, Syria and Tanzania.

Countries that will apply the REX system as of 01/01/2019:

Bangladesh, Benin, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Cambodia, Haiti, Indonesia, Kyrgyzstan, Lesotho, Madagascar, Mauritania, Mongolia, Nigeria, Paraguay, the Philippines, Samoa, Senegal, Tajikistan, Uganda, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu and Vietnam.

Coexistence of the two systems

It is important to keep in mind that during the transition period the two systems will coexist . Form A certificates can still be issued by exporters who have not yet registered in the REX system and, in turn, these certificates will no longer be issued to exporters who have registered with the system, who must use the internal communication through it.

Thus, at the end of the period, shipments whose amount exceeds € 6,000 will be entitled to the GSP preferential tariff treatment only on imports if they are accompanied by a declaration on origin made by a registered exporter of the REX system.

Randall Sabala

Comments are closed.